Elena’s College Fund

Hello possible contributors,

My name is Elena Brown and I need your help with my college tuition during my final year at Metropolitan State College of Denver.

Currently, I’m a jet-setting freelancer with more than a decade as a flight attendant. It’s a good job, but it’s not my passion. My passion is writing and reporting. And while the Journalism industry is suffering some hardships, the heart wants what it wants. I balance flying, school, internships and fellowships and can admit it’s taken me a while to finish my degree—As I can’t do them all at the same time. I plan to take a reduced flying schedule, which will impact my pay but free up the time to complete classes.

Somewhere between the re-circulated air and reading Suze Orman books I’ve come to the stunning realization; I have fantastically mismanaged my money.

Digging myself out of my hole is hard and I need help—financial help.

My goal is to complete my degree in the summer of 2010 and I would like to raise $2,000, enough money for tuition and books. Since I am repaying past student loans, taking another isn’t an option.

Now don’t worry, I know that writing is for me. My work toward a degree in journalism from Metro State College of Denver supplements my professional achievements. My articles appeared in The Denver Post, the Denver Business Journal, The Gazette newspaper in Colorado Springs and both Denver and 5280 magazines. I’ve won a regional Mark of Excellence Award for in-depth reporting from the Society of Professional Journalists and received the Colorado Press Association Scholarship. Recently I completed an internship with Westword newspaper thanks to my fellowship with the Academy for Alternative Journalism at Medill’s School of Journalism at Northwestern University.

I would like the opportunity to finish what was started long ago. I need my degree. It humbles me to ask for your help, but I’m also smart enough to know when I need it.

Any and all donations are accepted through a PayPal account I’ve set up. I have various published clips and professionals references available upon your request.

Thank you for your time and consideration.

 

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://enbrown.wordpress.com/2009/11/25/elenas-college-fund/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

