Annual VD

I am so bored of people using love as an excuse. And even more so of a manufactured holiday reminding the world over and over again of it.  Nothing has changed, I still liken Valentine’s Day to VD because Venereal Diseases hurt, can cause awful sores in your skin, ache thru muscle and bone and can cause death. And so can Love.

I love you, I love you, I love you; Blah! I love you is eight letters long just like the word, ‘bullshit’.

And while we’re at it-stop tossing around soul mate. Soul mates, if there are such things, must be worked for, and most poor slobs backstory of how they met isn’t all that laborious. In fact, they mostly involve a bar. The mate  that completes your soul isn’t in your postcode or shopping at the local grocery store. Soul mates are rare like unicorns or a gay car mechanic.

Still have a relentless clutch to thinking Love is attainable? No worries, you’re not alone. I blame Disney for this thought process. But then again I blame Disney for a lot of things. They own the station that puts out The Bachelor and have quoted gems that include, “Like the voice of a heavenly choir, love’s sweet music flows on” and that was said by an orphaned deer.

Too harsh? OK, maybe, just maybe, Love something you grow into, like say olives and hummus or tomato juice without vodka. I guess time will tell. But between you and me, I doubt it.

Published in: on 02/14/2010 at 18:50  Comments (6)  
Tags: , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://enbrown.wordpress.com/2010/02/14/vd-strikes-ii/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

6 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Aaah, don’t have an angry heart! Be your own Valentine!

    • Zia-

      Please believe, my heart isn’t angry. I jut happen to find Valentine’s Day totally, completely, and thoroughly unnecessary.

      Thanks for stopping by and taking the time to read.

      E.

  2. Um nobody should drink tomato juice without vodka that is just far worse then VD.

    • Shannon-
      So very true.
      -e

  3. I completely agree with everything you say. Especially soulmates. I do have a soulmate, but he is my second eldest son. He knows me better than anyone in the whole world. I love to read what you write.

  4. Where did I go wrong???


Leave a Reply

